Truck Envy

I have truck envy.

There, I said it.

Not just for any truck. No, I want the Toyota Tacoma.

Stop laughing.

I have wanted a Toyota Tacoma since I was in college. I have also moved more times than I want to admit in the last 8 years. Every time I do, I wish I had a truck.

This past January, I replaced my trusty Subaru wagon that I had driven for 13 years. I got an SUV this time, nothing fancy. The seats fold down flat, and with how often I move, that’s a requirement! It has some luxury details (Hello, leather seats!) and also terrible gas mileage. It’s no 4-miles-to-the-gallon Suburban, but it’s not like my old Subaru either.

The Toyota Tacoma gets about the same gas mileage as the SUV I bought, right around 16 mpg in the city and 22 on the highway. The price I have paid to have a V6 engine versus a V4 all those years is in the power. I have wondered why I didn’t just get what I’ve been wanting for the last twenty years! I am grateful to have something a little more powerful and A LOT more comfortable.

This summer, I have moved twice, which increased my truck envy. Every time I see one on the road, I say, “There’s my truck!” or I talk to the driver.

“I really like your truck!” doesn’t seem weird to say to a total stranger, does it? Haha.

As much as I want a truck, until it has more energy efficient options and pollutes less, I won’t be getting one. I read No Is Not Enough: Resisting Trump’s Shock Politics and Winning the World We Need by Naomi Klein this summer, and after reading that book, the last thing I want to do is add to global warming.

In all practicality, I will get something greener as my next car and borrow a truck when I need to get my kicks… or move again!

This entry was posted in change, gratitude, single mom and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

