He’s a Keeper

Conversation from Sunday went like this:

Son: Thanks for making me clean my room today.
Me: What?
Son: Thanks for making me clean my room. It really needed it!
Me: Uhhh, you’re welcome!

For the record, I didn’t make him do it. I said it needed to get done. Then he picked the time he wanted to do it. He chose Sunday before lunch.

“How are you going to remember to get it done?” I asked. He has a tendency of not fulfilling agreements.

“I’m going to write it down,” he said.

He wrote it down and stuck his note on the wall next to his place at the dining room table. Sunday morning, he got it done. I had to help with the time keeping by using ten-minute intervals to attack chunks of his room at a time, but he did it!

I don’t know that I’ll ever hear him express gratitude over cleaning his room again. No guarantees in life, right? I hope I hear it again, or that he just keeps his room tidier. He’ll be a teenager before I know it, and who knows what I’ll hear then!

This entry was posted in appreciation, gratitude, Motherhood, success, work and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

