The Break Up With Sugar

I broke up with processed sugar six days ago. I had to do it. Sugar had dragged me down for the last time. I didn’t like the way it made me feel. It didn’t have anything to say back to me either.

I ate some cake on Sunday, a week ago Sunday, geez! And then I fell asleep on the couch. I asked Little Guy to turn off all the lights and I slept. I thought, ‘Gee, that was weird. That cake worked better than bedtime tea.’

The next day, a holiday for some of us, I ate a little more cake in the afternoon. The same thing happened! I fell asleep for a couple of hours.

I decided that I was done. I was done with sugar. No more cookies, cake, candy, you get the idea.

The next day, I vowed to myself that I would not eat any sugar.

It was definitely not one of the hardest days of my life, but it did not feel easy. I wanted cookies at work and chocolate from my locker, but I did not want to fall asleep or feel so tired like I did the day before. I ate everything but sugar. That night after dinner, I couldn’t stop eating until bed. I stuffed my belly with everything not sugary.

The next day at work, cookies showed up. I did not eat them. It wasn’t as hard to resist on the 2nd day as the first. It’s gotten easier as the days have continued. When I want something sweet, I can have water (boring), gum (yum), tea (whee), fruit or a fruit leather.

I don’t have a length of time in mind to stay off sugar, but I know I’ve taken a step in the right direction. If I can make it through the next cursed, sugar-infused American holiday without eating any of that tooth-rotting, pimple-causing nonsense, I will feel like I have conquered a mountain.  And I bet I’ll feel a lot healthier, too.

This entry was posted in change, motivation, success, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

