Sweet Surprise

When I emerged from the bathroom this morning, Little Guy suggested that I sit down and eat my breakfast.

“Eat my breakfast?” I asked.

“Mmhmm,” he said.  “It’s on the table.”

“Did you make me breakfast?” I asked.

“Yes, I made you yogurt and granilla, and there’s more coming!” he said.

“Yogurt and granola?”

“Yep, I’m going to make waffles too!”

I thanked him and sat down to eat my breakfast.  It saves me so much time when he makes it.

As I ate, I asked him if it was Valentine’s Day today.  He said no, but to expect the same treat on that day, too.  I asked why he decided to make me breakfast this morning.  While he flipped waffles in the pan, he replied that since I had a long, busy day at work the day before, he would make it easier on me by making me breakfast today.

When I told the story at work, a co-worker said that I’m doing something right.  I must be.  At age 8, my son has compassion and a sense of caring for others.

I keep teasing him about when he’s going to make me dinner, and he says he doesn’t know.  Maybe I’ll start asking for breakfast, instead.  Breakfast rules!

This entry was posted in appreciation, gratitude, Motherhood, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

