Birthdays

I am not a fan of birthdays.  I don’t like the extra attention or lavish gifts.  I don’t want to be asked my age because it’s not polite to ask a lady that.  Having the birthday song sung to me puts me over the edge of mortification.  

I survived my birthday this year with more grace than usual.  

I graciously accepted all of my birthday wishes.  I politely declined the few requests to reveal my age.  Most everyone knows that I am a lady and not to ask.  I looked forward to the plans that I had made and did them, even though it involved going out into public while a little under the weather.  I had plans, and I intended to see them through and enjoy every minute, so I did!

I also decided that if someone feels inclined to celebrate my existence and mark it with an item, large or small, tangible or intangible, I should not deny them that joy.

I hold tight to the belief that the best things in life are free, such as, naps, unconditional love, time with friends and family and enjoying the outdoors.  I also believe that gifts are wonderful to receive and wonderful to give.  

I accept and give gifts in celebration and gratitude of life.  

Peace, love and happiness,

J.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

