Talk Thursday – Progressions

I spent a lot of today thinking about what I have to offer.  I felt like an emotional wreck and would have rather stayed in bed all day.  Since I couldn’t, I went to work and spent my free time reading and thinking about hiding my wreck of a self and focusing on what I offer to the world.  I saw “a positive attitude” in big white, captial letters that flashed across my forehead, backwards so I could read them in the mirror.

Yes, folks, that’s what I came up with.  I almost always have a positive spin to everything.  Yes, it was totally unlike me to post something as poopy as “Sucky September.”  I am not one to spread a “down in a hole” message.

“Down in a hole, feelin so small
Down in a hole, outta control”

Thank you Alice in Chains.

Anyway, I spent most of the day thinking about what I offer, what I am working on with myself: patience, communicating better and not holding things in, living with meaning, balancing life and all its wonderful relationships, and worrying less.

That lead me to read Real Simple online, specifically to an article by Michelle Slatella called “10 Secrets of an Unflappable Working Mom.”  It was full of good advice and regarding balancing the wonderful life relationships, I found this applied:

“Stop thinking of yourself as split into separate but equal roles: mother, worker, me.  Listen to philosopher John Locke, who said that a person recognizes himself as the same being throughout his life, in different times and places. You are one person, indivisible, who just happens to wear many hats. And while I get that the weight of all those hats can wear you down, at least be happy you’ve got something important to do.”

During the day, the customary, obsessive cogs turned into progressions of what I want to be like, and how to achieve that, and I wondered how do some people, like my ex-husband, give up the search for meaning in life?  I still look for answers about that without much luck or comfort.  Such a mystery I have tried to give up, but I come back to it.

By the end of the day, I remembered that I used to see a daily reminder that life is short by living with a man fighting cancer, and when did I forget that?  Even with my dog, who died suddenly of bone cancer that spread to his lungs without any warning should have reminded me with its in-my-face message.

Life is short.  What if I died tomorrow?  How would I want Little Guy to remember me?  How would I want to treat the ones I love?  How would I want them to treat me?  With patience and consideration and kindness.

I have examined my life like this today, which led to more questioning, like if I knew I were going to die tomorrow, would I have gone to the bar where I saw my boyfriend’s truck, even though I wasn’t feeling up to it, instead of going home?  Would I have made it a goal to get enough sleep tonight, as in, more than 5 hours, which is all I’ve gotten every night this week?  Or would I have said, “I’ll sleep when I’m dead!”  I don’t know.  But I made my choices, and I’m going to bed.

Today’s kind of like the Jewel song that goes:

“In the end, only kindness matters.”

Good night.

This entry was posted in appreciation, gratitude, Talk Thursday, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Talk Thursday – Progressions

  1. Cele says:

    My friend a piece of advice, live life like there is no tomorrow. Because tomorrow is not promised it is hoped for. Make every conversation count, very moment mean something, live your life, embrace the love of those around you, breathe, live, love, give, take, make, and simply be.

  2. lynnblossom says:

    Hey there. I’m back on the Blogosphere. This is an intense entry. Funny you should ask “what if.” I asked the same thing on my blog tonight ina different way without having read your blog first. Is something in the air?

    Looking forward to seeing you tomorrow. Loves, Mommmmmmmmmmmm

  3. Jen says:

    Hi there! I agree with Cele. Focus on the now. Anything else is an invitation to insanity. And calling the doc about Prozac can’t hurt-I’m a big advocate of better living through chemistry. Even one of my frickin’ CATS takes Prozac. For reals.

Leave a Reply

