Talk Thursday – Breaking Habits

I’ve noticed on Facebook that a few of my friends lately have been breaking habits, or trying to anyway.  I should say it this way; they’ve made a new habit of drinking beverages other than diet soda.  These are friends of mine who do not know each other.  Has a cosmic shift occurred to inspire people to make healthier choices?

I know I couldn’t give up my coffee.  Okay, I could.  I don’t want to, nor do I find it a habit I want to change.  I could stand to break a compulsive habit I have.  I got over the washing hands thing, so I know I could stop this, too.  I do it when I’m stressed or anxious about something.  In the last couple weeks, I have made a concerted effort to stop myself when I do it.  It kind of works, unless I have too much on my mind.  Perhaps with the good changes going on in my life, it will happen on its own.

This entry was posted in change, Talk Thursday. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Talk Thursday – Breaking Habits

  1. Mom says:

    Mitties?

  2. jenniphur says:

    Yes. Awful. My awareness has grown, so I catch myself doing it. Yay!

  3. Cele says:

    I have this terrible sweet tooth binge problem, I could break it if I could. Even more so, I wish they’d make a pill for it, because darmn my tenacity isn’t tenacious enough. I’m thinking this pretty much wipes out all my other healthy habits.

  4. Jennifer says:

    I’m on this ridiculous eating plan for the next two weeks to bring my blood sugar under control; it’s been zooming up and down, leading to embarrassing near-fainting incidents. So no sweets, no alcohol, no caffeine, no FRUIT for God’s sake, no bread, white flour, etc., etc., etc. – I’ve done okay so far, except for the caffeine part. I will give up my coffee when they pry the mug from my cold dead fingers. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

