Talk Thursday – Spoiled

My arrival home on Tuesday prompted this topic.  I walked through the door and smelled delicious meaty aromas of a near ready dinner in the kitchen, the fading scent of Swiffer Wet, saw vacuum tracks on the carpet, and my peppadew boyfriend (sweet & hot) surfing the net on the couch.  I can’t remember this happening in the last ten years, and I felt spoiled, just a little that I didn’t have to do anything that night but enjoy life.

It got me thinking about gender roles and ‘Should’ve been a sociologist’ thoughts to myself.  I wondered if the majority of men feel that way every day, or take it for granted and don’t.  (I said, “the majority” Shin, so your wife, I guess, instead of you.)  I wondered if the give and take of domestic responsibilities ever evens out for any couple, or if one always burdens more than the other.

Boyfriend said to me in the kitchen, “I’m not working right now, but I will be a lot soon.” (His job starts on the first).  “You’re working and stressed, so I thought I’d help you out.”

Oh my god, he’s perfect, perfect, perfect, I thought to myself.

“Thank you,” I said.  “Do you need me to do anything to help with dinner?” I asked.

“You don’t have to do anything,” he said.

I felt at a loss.  Nothing.  I couldn’t do anything?  Really?  It took a minute to sink in, but then I did nothing but relax on the couch.  I think I almost took it too much to heart.  I didn’t do anything else that I meant to do that night.  I didn’t clean the cat box or the bathroom.  Nope.  I read my book after Little Guy went to bed.  I read my book every night that week and ignored most other responsibilities and tasks that my name.  I didn’t hear them until the weekend.

This entry was posted in appreciation, gratitude, Talk Thursday, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Talk Thursday – Spoiled

  1. Cele says:

    Ack that sounds like heaven.

Leave a Reply

