Simplified

Since the passing in September, I’ve been a bit on the run housesitting from place to place then back at my old house.  I’ve had about 6 or 7 shirts and two pair of pants and about 6 or 7 outfits for Little Guy with me.  Normally, I dictate to myself that all laundry gets sorted by cold water wash of lights apart from darks then things that need warm water, like unmentionables, sheets and towels.  With all the clothes that Little Guy have been carrying with us from place to place, it hasn’t made sense to separate anything.  It all goes in the wash together. 

Since reclaiming some of my own space in the new house that I’m moving into, I’ve been able to go back to separating laundry.  Now, instead of sorting the lights and darks, I keep it to cold water wash and warm water wash.  Life got simpler this way for me.  I’ve let go one step and one unimportant detail in my life.  The clothes have not taken on each other’s colors, so far.  Laundry goes in two piles not three or four.  I wish I had caught on to this years ago.

This entry was posted in appreciation, change, gratitude and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Simplified

  1. Cele says:

    think of how much time and energy removing that one little step has saved you. I rejoiced when I realized I wasn’t going to ruin everything because I mixed my loads.

Leave a Reply

