Date Night

I went on a date last night, a real honest-to-goodness date.  I needed daycare today while I was at work, but Little Guy’s daycare woman needed him there early in order to make her dog’s vet appointment.  She knows that I never get Little Guy to her very early, so she suggested he spend the night there on Friday.  “Okay!” I said.  That was Tuesday.  

I was so excited at the prospect of having a night to go out on the town with Y&H that I called him almost immediately on Tuesday evening to tell him of the opportunity.  We had many ideas of what we would do for date night, and we agreed that whatever we did, we would go out.  Last time we had a night to ourselves, I was so exhausted that I fell asleep on the living room floor at his house, fully-clothed, at 10:45 p.m.  We were supposed to go out to see a band that night, but I didn’t have the energy or desire to expose myself to the various, airborne diseases going around.  

Thursday night we agreed that we would go to dinner in a nearby town and then take a soak in the hot springs.  It sounded so relaxing, so I made myself a pedicure appointment for right after work.  I hadn’t enjoyed a pedicure since Little Guy’s first birthday, so I decided that after 3-and-a-half years, it was time.  I also knew the better I took care of myself, the better prepared I would be to spend a great evening with Y&H and take care of Little Guy after work today.  

At the salon, I picked “An Affair in Red Square” by OPI, a glistening red that reminded me of a marbled bowling ball.  It’s too bad that Y&H is color-blind.  I should have picked a trendy gray, just to mess with him.  Next time, maybe I will.  

I finally got done with the pedicure, an hour and a half later, callus-free, and picked up Y&H.  I said that I would drive to dinner, if he would drive us home.  I felt so tired.  We went to the old house to let the dog out & back in, then off we went to dinner.  We had a delicious, tender prime rib dinner that I didn’t have to pay for.  At the car, Y&H got my door for me.  He reminded me that we were on a date, and that he was going to do those kinds of things.  I am so not used to this kind of chivalry, even after 3 months of dating Y&H.  We drove to the hot springs and soaked and talked and laughed and kissed.  

We got home to my old house around 11:15 p.m., and I thanked him for dinner and the soak.  He thanked me for not fighting him about paying.  I’m also not used to men paying for dates, at least not regularly.  We talked until about midnight, then went to bed.  We both agreed earlier in the car that we should have a weekly date night.  Now that I have Little Guy full-time, I think it sounds like a necessary and welcome event to keep the good thing that Y&H and I have going.

This entry was posted in appreciation, change, gratitude, Motherhood and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Date Night

  1. Cele says:

    For some reason I thought you and he weren’t anymore, I think I need to go back and re read.

    Date night’s are a necessity of any relationship. It’s also important for your own personal mental health numbers. Smile, be happy.

  2. Cele says:

    And trainable?

    Hey, one could hope.

    It’s amazing how fast time flies when it’s someone else’s time you’re watching. Oh, wait. My time is flying too.

  3. Lynnski says:

    This post has no reference to the past. You are healing. I can’t wait to be there. I find that I want to live in Fairplay in that little grey house on 2nd that I thought was white. At least I think it’s grey.

    Did I tell you I talked to Matt Potter last Monday? It was great to see him and his art, and he is as much fun as ever. Amanda and I had a good time.

  4. sideon says:

    Ritual is a wonderful thing.

Leave a Reply

