Now That Things Have Changed

Remember the last showdown Ex and I had over painting Little Guy’s nails?  Little Guy does.  After I got out of the shower yesterday morning, Little Guy noticed my painted toe nails. 

“I want paint on my nails,” he said.  “My dad’s dead, so I can have paint on my nails, now, wight Mama?  Mama, can I?”

“If that’s what you want, that’s fine with me,” I told him.

“Wight now?” he asked.

“No, not right now, “ I said.  “I don’t have it with me.”  (We’re housesitting.)

“Waiter?”  he asked. 

“Yes, maybe later, next week some time.” 

I have decided that it’s fine for him to have paint on a nail or two or all, if he wants, until he goes to school.  Yes, I feel like I need to protect him from the ridicule he would receive.  Now, with no daddy, he’ll already be different enough.  I see no need to push that any further. 

Oh, and yes, Little Guy knows in the most vague, most honest terms I could find for a 4-year-old that his dad got hurt really bad and died and has turned into a star that we wave to at night. 

Little Guy has romanticized the star bit and made up so many stories that we could write a series on just what the star of his dead daddy can and cannot do.

This entry was posted in change, Motherhood and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Now That Things Have Changed

  1. Cele says:

    A star, that’s a nice way to keep his dad in a touchable, talk able place. Very good.

Leave a Reply

