Perspective – Single Mom Life

Last night as I was driving home at 10:00 p.m. with my drowsy kid in the backseat, I realized that in order for me, as a single mom, to have a social life and get things done, my kid has to go with me on occasion.  Sometimes, this means that he’ll be awake two hours past bedtime.  

I have criticized my mom in the past for letting me be such a night owl as a small child.  I didn’t have a bedtime really, so I stayed up until 10:00 p.m. every night when I was small.  I often would fall asleep on my dad while we watched the 10:00 news.  I don’t remember what time I had to get up every morning in order for me and my parents to get to wherever we had to be on time.  I can tell you that it was TOO DAMN EARLY!

Since having a child of my own and seeing the difference in behavior after a good night’s rest versus keeping him up late, I have convinced myself that I would have been more cheerful in the morning had a I either a) gone to bed earlier or b) gotten to wake up when I was ready.  Unfortunately for everyone involved in my life before 10:00 a.m. from childhood through my mid-twenties, it took a while for me to come around and act awake enough to function and be nice.  

So, here’s the pickle. Some nights I choose to have a life and go on dates with Boyfriend and my child, such as on Thursday.  Boyfriend’s idea, not mine.  Boyfriend’s pretty cool and gets extra points for that one.  Last night, I also chose to keep us out late in order to see Guy Roomie play guitar at a local bar’s Family Night instead of doing paperwork.  Paperwork never goes away.  Guy Roomie won’t be with us much longer.  I couldn’t be Responsible Jenniphur last night.  I needed to be Appreciating Life Jenniphur.  So, we stayed out late (9 p.m.) and then ran an errand.  

Most nights, I choose to stay in and let us get the rest we need.  As a single mom, I have to wonder how my decisions will affect Little Guy later in life.  I hope he appreciates what we do together, no matter what time we get to bed.  I also hope he appreciates how much I enjoy his company and spending time with him.  I want him to value the time he has with the ones he loves and the ones who love him.

This entry was posted in appreciation, change, Fulfillment, gratitude, Motherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Perspective – Single Mom Life

  1. Cele says:

    It’s much easier when a parent is near by to help pick up the load.

Leave a Reply

