Last Week’s TT – Saying Goodbye

“Saying goodbye is never an easy thing, but you never said, you’d stay forever.  So if you must go, then darling I’ll set you free.  I know in time, we’ll be together.” Taylor Daynes

My dad and I used to listen to Taylor Daynes’ album as we drove to and from Idaho to see family on the weekends, about once a month.  I knew all the lyrics well at one time.  I still do.  They’re just a little foggy, like the drive home from Breckenridge last night.  No, the drive home was REALLY foggy.  Back to the story.

Thinking back, my dad and I listened to some pretty dorky 80’s music that I LOVED.  Wham!  I keep that in my car in the CD holder at all times.  Yes, I bought Glenn Frey, Huey Lewis and the News, The Bangles and a few others of whose songs I could not forget over the years.  

Listening to that music reminds me of the good times my dad and I had and makes me appreciate when we had a relationship and he still communicated with me.  I don’t dwell on the silence he has allowed to grow between us.   

At some point in my college years, craving to know the words again, I bought George Michael’s “Faith” album.  How could I not?  I remember when the “Faith” video came out.  George wore acid-wash jeans, a black leather jacket, sunglasses, and a cross earring.  Oh, and his guitar.  The video contained some flattering butt shots.  

My aunt was still alive then, around 1988.  She watched a lot of TV and would leave it on MTV in hopes of seeing that video as much as possible.  I remember arriving on a Saturday at her house to her watching that video.  We could hear her high-pitched giggle from the front door.  My dad and I rushed to the dinner table to watch it with her and joined in the giggling.  

I think that moment amuses me more than most others in my life.  It didn’t get much better than hearing her laugh and watching George Michael shake it.

This entry was posted in appreciation, change, gratitude and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Last Week’s TT – Saying Goodbye

  1. Cele says:

    That was a great video. Sometimes it must sound trite, golden moments are the memories that get us through the sad and lonely times. But I think that it is true.

  2. lynnblossom says:

    This topic hit me right at Memorial Day and I haven’t written about it yet. You said it very well, and I’m glad you talked about Sanette. She was wonderful.

Leave a Reply

