All Hallow’s Eve – Talk Thursday

I remember one year in the 90’s when Sid dressed up as a skeleton and painted teeth on his lips. It looked so creepy when he would smile and show off that double-set of chompers.  I probably had nightmares.   We attended a college party at a hotel ballroom.  I don’t remember much about that night for some reason.  I didn’t even drink much in those days…underage and all.  I think I went as a black cat that year.  I remember dancing with Sid and some great dance music, and that’s about it.  Maybe I did have a drink.  

*

I’m looking forward to Halloween this year.  For the first time in years, I’m celebrating.  I know, I know, and I have a small child.  He will celebrate Halloween for the first time this year, too.  I’m dressing him up and taking him trick-or-treating.  

I didn’t reveal this until today. The new variations of candy at the bank have broadened Little Guy’s expectations of getting a sucker to getting a Tootsie Roll, or something similar that will threaten to yank out his dental work in years to come.  

I’m playing construction worker tomorrow and helping put up the exterior facelift on the house.  I don’t know how that will work with Little Guy being with us, but I’m sure he’ll be happy with his construction toys.  Then, we’ll hit a local street up for come sugar, and I’ll head to Girlfriend’s house to get ready for our night out.  We’re heading to a local bar where a local, favorite, fun band will play.  I’m looking forward to it, and I’m taking her out this time.  

Poor Husband, he doesn’t get to have fun on the town with us.  He doesn’t celebrate anyway, so I think he only cares because I’m going out.  We haven’t done anything for Halloween since, hmm, 1999 or so.  

Holidays, I normally feel so ho-hum about them, but maybe I just wasn’t hanging with the right people.  Girlfriend said she spent $800 one year on decorations for her house for Halloween.  Yikes!  We live in such a remote area that we don’t even buy candy.  We have no trick-or-treaters.  Everyone heads into town for that.  

I’m looking forward to a full day and night!

This entry was posted in girlfriends, Motherhood, Talk Thursday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to All Hallow’s Eve – Talk Thursday

  1. Cele says:

    I hope we get a picture. I would hate not to enjoy halloween. Such fun and chocolate. Ahhhhh. ummm did I mention pictures?

Leave a Reply

