Red (exerpt)

I have this week off from jobs outside the home.  I intended to drive to see my mom this week, but I have too much work to do here in our office and tax reports to file by Friday.  Husband is home this week making structural improvements to the exterior of our home.  I have Little Guy home with me, too, instead of in daycare.  It has worked out, since I think he has had a cold for the last few days, and now he’s got tummy trouble again.  It seems he has this every week.  My cat has enjoyed all the snuggling we have done in the last few days.

In the meantime, my throat is sore and looks the same way I feel: irritated.  I think the weather changing every week from warmish to cold has dried out the air.  I don’t feel sick.  I feel the same as I did yesterday.  I’m working out every day this week, something I haven’t done regularly since July or so.  It feels good.  My health feels like a priority in my life again.  I didn’t even have a drinky-drink last night, and I could tell a difference when I got up this morning.  I’m going to have to do that more often.  My skin looked brighter and my dark circles looked lighter.  I’m not that much of a drinker, but I have enjoyed a drink or two almost every day this summer.  

I worked in the office last night after Little Guy went to bed.  I had an easier time doing the work.  Normally, after a drink, I just want to do nothing or lie in bed and watch a movie, even though I usually work in the office anyway just with less enthusiasm than usual, if that’s possible.  With all the catching up I have to do for this calendar year, it wouldn’t hurt for our house to go dry for the next few months or to allow myself one night a week to kick back with a Lemon Drop.

This week I plan to:

  • read “The Art of Doing Nothing,” 
  • vacuum my car’s interior, 
  • paint my toenails in preparation for Halloween night, 
  • rearrange and vacuum Little Guy’s room (done), 
  • get my snow tires put on, 
  • and straighten up this mess of an office.  
This entry was posted in change, motivation, success, Uncategorized, work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

