Motivation Game

Sometimes, when I have something I don’t want to do, I will challenge myself to complete the task in a certain amount of time.  Say it’s 8:34 p.m., and I’d like to watch a DVD at 9 p.m., but I have to wash the dishes, or file a pile of papers.  I’ll challenge myself to get it done in those remaining 26 minutes.  

I usually don’t complete the self-assigned task in the allotted time, but it makes it more tolerable to play a game like this with myself.  Just because I don’t finish the task in the time I challenge myself to, does not mean that I have failed at my own game.  It just keeps things interesting so that I do something.  I will finish the dishes in however long it takes me.  When it comes to filing, I will usually stop when my time’s up.  I just try to move as fast as possible when doing unenjoyable tasks or distract myself with good music or my thoughts, both of which provide topics for me to blog about.  

How do you motivate yourself?

This entry was posted in motivation, success and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

