Funky Mood

I had a funky day yesterday.  I didn’t feel like doing anything.  I’m PMSing.  I felt zapped of enthusiasm.  I was QUIET.  Me.  Quiet.  I felt cranky and impatient and particular.  I was in a weird mood.  And sex?  My body said “yes” while my head said “no.”  I wanted chocolate and potato chips – no, not together.  

I daydreamed about 4 days in New Mexico by myself.  Why New Mexico?  I have no idea.  Maybe to find some decent pinion coffee.  Maybe because it’s warm and looks nothing like Colorado.  Maybe it’s because my kid’s got a stomach virus, and I’m tired of cleaning him up.  Maybe I just need some space from my life here, and New Mexico’s only a 5-hour drive away.  

So, I pulled myself out of my mood this morning with a fabulous mix-CD that Sideon gave me almost 10 years ago after he moved away.  Ain’t nothing that compares to belting out Prince’s “Kiss” while in the shower.  Little Guy has suffered some hearing damage this morning, but he will survive.  He will survive.  Hey, hey.

I’m burnt like a carcinogen at my jobs.  I have four days off at the end of the month, and I want to go somewhere.  I know I’ll have to take Little Guy with me, but that almost makes it better.  Think of all we could find on a mother-son adventure.  I don’t know where I will go, or if I will go for sure, but I started to turn that cog in my head last night.  Then, I talked to my mama today, and started to turn the cog with her.  Four days at my mama’s house with Little Guy could serve the “get away” feeling well.  A day or two in an unexplored, nearby town might work, too.  

In the meantime, I leave you with Lenny Kravitz’s “Fly Away.”

This entry was posted in Motherhood, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Funky Mood

  1. seizui says:

    . . . let’s open up a restaurant in Santa Fe. Sunny Santa Fe would be nice. . .

Leave a Reply

