Talk Thursday – Joy of Autumn

Joys that have come this fall have included Little Guy’s successes.  During Single Mama Weekend at the end of September, he started using the potty 100% (1 year and 9 months of training) and CHOSE to wear underwear.  Except for one day last week, he has chosen underwear over a Pull-Up.  (He found a Pull-Up with Buzz Lightyear on them and took those over real underwear.  I told him we can get real underwear with Buzz Lightyear on them.)  His success came from BOTH parents backing off.  Husband gave up, and that ticket gave Little Guy all the control over his own body that he wanted.  Last week, before I left for work one evening, Little Guy summoned me with “Mom, come here!  Huge poop in the toilet!”  And I obeyed.  Positive reinforcement goes a long way!

All this talk about fall, reminds me that Little Guy will start school in two years, pre-school next year, I hope.  Right now, he spends about half his time each week in daycare, and the other half with me, a good portion of which I take him to work with me.  I feel bad that I don’t spend as much time with him working on his ABC’s as I would like, but thank the stars he has daycare to fill in some gaps.  He has started recognizing more letters and can count to five and knows some of the numbers after that, but not the order.  He has figured out how to button up his clothes, too.  His fine, motor skills are developing.  

Today, he started writing the letter “O” all on his own.  

I know that compared to other kids his age, he may seem behind in development.  But, it isn’t fair to compare.  He has only attended daycare.  So, while my friend’s son, who’s 4 months younger and goes to pre-school can recite his ABC’s, Little Guy’s developing on his own timeline.  He’ll catch up to the other kids soon enough.  I want time to celebrate his successes.

This entry was posted in Motherhood, success, Talk Thursday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Talk Thursday – Joy of Autumn

  1. Cele says:

    Each child learns at their own rate…and of course there are those who never learn. We refer to them as my first husband.

  2. jenniphur says:

    Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha! Thanks for the laugh!

  3. seizui says:

    Some refer to them as simply, “Husband.”

    On a different note, toddlers should run the world. I remember one time I was putting Gavin on my shoulders and he somehow grabbed my cap, breaking the clasp. As I was getting upset, the clasp hit the ground, and he responded, “Hey, a bell,” while visibly glowing. All anger left my body. When I told him my cap was broken, he responded, “That’s OK daddy, we can get you a new one.” He was right. I was wrong. Toddlers should run the world.

Leave a Reply

