Night Owl

I hate mornings, some more than others.  Even when I get enough sleep as I did last night, I still don’t like mornings.  I didn’t have a drinky-drink last night either, so don’t try to blame alcohol for my daybreak disenchantment.  Some mornings like today, I wake up singing Meredith Brooks’ “Bitch” song in my head.  In case my mom’s reading, it starts like this:

“I hate the world today
You’re so good to me
I know but I can’t change
Tried to tell you
But you look at me like maybe
I’m an angel underneath
Innocent and sweet
Yesterday I cried
Must have been relieved to see
The softer side
I can understand how you’d be so confused
I don’t envy you
I’m a little bit of everything
All rolled into one

Chorus:
I’m a bitch, I’m a lover
I’m a child, I’m a mother
I’m a sinner, I’m a saint
I do not feel ashamed
I’m your hell, I’m your dream
I’m nothing in between
You know you wouldn’t want it any other way”

This song reminds me of the movie “What Women Want” with Mel Gibson and Marisa Tomei.  Despite the shortcomings of this film, it cheers me up to think about it.  That’s a good start to changing my outlook.  

I don’t really hate the world, but I feel like I do when I wake up.  I know I’m in a bad mood when I make my coffee and stand next to the machine until the magical liquid is brewed.  I did that today. 

I couldn’t face drinking any of that mild, pinon coffee today.  I ground up the stuff I usually use.  It. tastes. FANTASTIC!  I hate the world a little less already.  Also, I chose a mug in my favorite color, purple.  Then I sat down to enjoy my coffee, instead of starting in on a project and letting my coffee get cold and icky.  I do what I can to make the morning more bearable.

This entry was posted in coffee and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Night Owl

  1. Cele says:

    Coffee makes my world go round. While I know it’s not for everyone and if I had to I could start my day without it I could, I have to ask why if you don’t have too? The aroma, the flavor, the caffine. Nectar of the gods.

Leave a Reply

