Guitar Inspiration

I’ve been listening to a lot of Lenny Kravitz lately – in the car – loud.  I have taken a 3 or 4-week hiatus from guitar lessons, since work took over my life temporarily during September.  The bass guitar line in Lenny’s music makes me want to learn the bass guitar, too.  Poco a poco.  One thing at a time.  

While walking around town today, we heard music coming from a plaza.  I thought it had something to do with the local high school’s homecoming weekend.  When we got there, we saw two teens rocking out, like a live jam session of classic rock.  One played the drums.  The other played the guitar.  They both played really well.  I thought that the guitar player must have begun around age 3 to play so well that his fingers danced on the strings.  Here I am, months into lessons, and I struggle going from one chord to another.  Practice makes perfect, as with everything else.  

I think I would feel more coordinated playing the drums.  I know I can hit stuff with good time!  I’ll need a studio or a Tuff Shed or something, so I don’t deafen the entire neighborhood.  I wish I still had my flute and keyboard.  I’ll have to shop for those at the end of the school year at some point, and maybe a drum set, too.  

Then, in ten years, I’ll make a hot video, Lenny Kravitz-style and accidentally drop a towel from around my waist as I cross behind an open doorway, except that instead of walking to the next room like he did, I’d probably have an Al Yankovic twist to my video and stare at the camera with my jaw open and my eyes wide, like ‘Oopsies, did I do that?’ 

I’d better go practice guitar now so I can go on tour next year and get well-known enough over the next 10 years to have a label that will want me to make a music video.  Leaving you with “Always on the Run” and “Believe” by Lenny Kravitz.

This entry was posted in appreciation, gratitude, success and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guitar Inspiration

  1. Cele says:

    Oh it is good to have dreams, recruit junior for a position and make it a family affair.

Leave a Reply

