Coffee Dreams

One night last week during the short, fitfull time that I slept, I had a nightmare.  I dreamed that I went over to someone’s house to have coffee, but my friend had run out and served the three of us there glossy, clay mugs full of AIR. Not black tea.  Not green tea.  Not soda.  Air.  He was out of coffee.  

Out of coffee?  Out of coffee!  Nooooooooo!

I wish I could say that dream upset me so much that I woke up, but it didn’t.  I kept dreaming, but not about coffee.  

Anyway, I bought some pinion coffee the last time I went to the wonderful warehouse of 2-pound coffee bargains that I visit in Denver.  I used to like pinion coffee….in New Mexico….from the Owl Cafe.  That was 15 years ago, and I don’t even know if the Owl Cafe still exists.  My mom and I went there when we stayed in New Mexico on the way back from a depressing visit to Texas.  (I’m now craving chicken enchiladas from a tex-mex restaurant where we ate when there.  Yes, I know that it’s 9 a.m., and I must be bonkers.)  

I’ve been drinking this pinion coffee from New Mexico, and I don’t like it.  I like a dark roast that gives me acid reflux.  I like my coffee the same way I like my wine: so dark that I can’t see through it.  This coffee is a light roast that just doesn’t do it for me.  I can hardly wait to use it all up, so I can go back to my half-full bag of House Blend that I interrupted in my excitement to try the pinion coffee.  What a disappointment, but it could be worse.  

After my dream, I appreciate that I have coffee to drink, good coffee.  I don’t want to LIVE the nightmare.

This entry was posted in appreciation, coffee, gratitude and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

