Know what I love? Coffee!

Know what I love?  Coffee!  Not just any coffee, but fresh-ground coffee.  

I’m a busy, working mom like most of the mothers in the U.S.  In the summer, I get one day off a week.  On my day off, I grind a week’s worth of coffee beans and put them in my airtight container.  

I look forward to fresh-ground coffee day.  For one, I know that coffee that day will call my name with its scent and allure me with its taste.  For two, I will have time to sit and enjoy the perfection created in my 9-year-old Mr. Coffee.  

I know some of you will pooh-pooh my choice of percolators.  I bought it at Costco in 1999 for $20.  It has served me well over the years.  Why fix it if it isn’t broken?  Its downfall: The coffee only tastes good when I use a paper filter.  

A couple years ago, I tried to go green.  I got a reusable filter.  And you know what?  The coffee tasted weak.  It tasted like coffee that had been made with yesterday’s used grounds.  (I had a roommate who did that, and that was only the beginning of her strange habits.)  Not only did the coffee not taste right, the grounds kept coming through or over the filter, so the last swallow of coffee contained coffee bits.  I’d rather chew on a thought any day than course-ground coffee beans.  

Unless there’s chocolate involved.  Maybe I did it all wrong.  I should have stayed with the reusable filter and topped off the littered last swallow with some chocolate syrup.

That sounds like I would have to get up from where I’ve landed with my coffee.  The last thing my cranky, morning butt wants to do is get up from where I’ve settled.  I am NOT a morning person.  And taking the chocolate syrup with me sounds like a recipe for disaster with a 3-year-old in the house, so that’s not an option.  

No, I think I will stick with my current situation of paper filter, Mr. Coffee, and keep looking forward to my weekly fresh-ground coffee day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Know what I love? Coffee!

  1. Cele says:

    I have a Bunn and wouldn’t trade it. I tried a reuseable filter years ago, and like you, hated it. Then I made my own. A little muslin over the reusable filters frame, I loved it. Over time it became “seasoned” and then I went to England, and when I got back my husband had thrown it out. Bummer.

  2. lynnblossom says:

    COFFEE ROCKS!!!!!! I’d be lost without it.

    Mimsy

  3. Jacob AD says:

    I also that way hardly love coffee b’coz aroma which is delicate every in pouring boiling water into with hot water and served with fry banana

Leave a Reply

