Forced Day Off – Sit and Listen to the Music

I have forced myself to take today off.  My body has forced this.  For the second day, I have a sore, swollen throat, more mucus than usual, much less energy than normal, and not much of an appetite.  I have the opportunity to take the day off, sit around, listen to music, think, and not speak or sing.  I prefer not to do the last two today anyway.  

Despite these circumstances, I have gotten about half a million loads of laundry washed and folded.  I have read all morning.  I have changed the sheets.  Laundry has piled up over the last few weeks, since I have spent more time working than normal, and I’m the only one who washes communal laundry like sheets and towels.  (Are you fucking kidding me?  I have to change this.)  Praise the stars that we are NOT the one-towel-a-day kind of people, like some of the people who stay at the property I manage.  

Today, I intend to clean up the kitchen, invoice my hours for August, pay some bills, vacuum, and put away the clean clothes that have gone back and forth from the bed to the ironing board for the last week.  I thought I would tackle one of the many paper piles that threatens to seize our living space.  I think that list may be too much for one day, a forced day off where I sit and listen to the music.  Right now, I’m listening to Nicole Torres, a woman whose music I openly adore.

At times, I think about creating my own playlist for my Facebook page, like some of my friends have done.  I have thought of a few more songs to add to this playlist I have yet to create.  Today’s song for everyone in my life: “Praise You” by Fatboy Slim. 

“Weve come a long, long way together,
Through the hard times and the good,
I have have to celebrate you baby,
I have to praise you like I should.”

This song popped into my head today while I rinsed out the detergent cup.  I can’t stand a mucked up detergent cup, no matter how petty or stupid that sounds.  How can a person measure the right amount if the first quarter inch has hardened detergent in it?  For a while this summer, for the first time since we moved to this house 3 years ago, Husband started rinsing the detergent cup and leaving a little water in the bottom of it so it would stay unmucked.  (He used to rinse the detergent cup at our old place.)  I never praised him for reverting to his good behavior, and he has stopped doing it.  I should have praised him, and yet I tire from having to praise for every, itty-bitty task he performs.  I should have praised him.  

Husband headed out to run an errand for me.  The last thing I wanted to do was go anywhere, drive anywhere, walk anywhere.  I could go for a lounge in a camping chair on the deck, and that’s as far out as I would like to venture today.  Note to self: Praise and thank Husband for running your errand because you felt too wiped out to go anywhere today.  Not even when Little Guy and I were sick with Whooping Cough last October did I get this luxury.  

I should take myself up on that offer of lounging on the deck.  It’s a sunny, warmish day, and we have few of those left in the season.  The aspens started changing last week.  I promise to take better care of myself.  I’ll be locked inside tomorrow, back to work, so…

to the deck before it rains!

This entry was posted in appreciation, Fulfillment, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Forced Day Off – Sit and Listen to the Music

  1. sideon says:

    I love that song, “Praise You.”

    Hugs hugs – I hope you’re feeling better.

  2. Cele says:

    Oh, I hope you feel better soon. I do all the laundry in the house, it’s a self/marriage preservation thing. If I let Ducky do the laundry nothing would be folded right, my sweaters would be shrunk, and he’d hate me.

    I do fall all over him with thank yous when he does something, because when he does something for us/me he doesn’t go out of his way to make me feel guilty I didn’t do it first or it wasn’t done right by his standards (left over refuse from ex number two.)

    Feel better soon.

Leave a Reply

