Birthdays

I should be in the shower right now, but I wanted to post something first.  I enjoyed my birthday yesterday.  I enjoyed it for the first time in a long time.  I even told people it was my birthday.  I never do that.  I even told people my age.  I never do that either.  

I asked for no material gifts from Husband.  I prefer it that way.  It makes the day more meaningful to me.  He presented me with 2 pounds of coffee beans first thing in the morning.  Okay, no one can go wrong giving me coffee (or alcohol) for my birthday.  That was a bonus, especially after drinking the crappy coffee for the last week.  

I had a guitar lesson in the morning before work.  Good lesson.  We practiced and jammed.  My fingertips, unused to playing, had grown soft again.  I hadn’t practiced in about 3 weeks.  I have returned to the numb-fingertip stage.  With more regular practice, I will build up my callouses again.  I can hardly wait.  

I went to work.  Good day.  It was busy, but not too busy, like the day before.  I enjoyed a Chambord margarita at the end of my shift.  Then we had a birthday shot.  Mmm, lemony.  I was fine by the time I had to pick up Little Guy from daycare.  I stopped at the liquor store on the way home for some birthday vodka.  Did you know that you get a discount there when it’s your birthday?  

I got home to find gift #2 – Husband making dinner of curry pasta with cream and peas.  Yummy.  Full-calorie, just the way I like it.  I think the last time I didn’t make dinner was Christmas, but I don’t remember for sure.  I enjoyed a Lemon Drop martini before dinner was ready.  It’s not your birthday without your favorite drink in your hand, right?  (I had enjoyed a glass of my favorite wine the day before at work because I started celebrating my birthday the day before.)  

After we put Little Guy to bed, we headed upstairs for gift #3.  I would have to change the rating of this site to describe anything further.  Who doesn’t want to get busy on their birthday?!?  Then, we watched an episode of “Gilmore Girls” and went to sleep.  

I go to work tonight where the celebrating will continue.  My girlfriend told me she made me one of her handmade jewelry pieces.  She asked if I liked chocolate or vanilla, and what’s my favorite color.  This led me to ask her if she was making me edible jewelry.   I could just see a piece of purple chocolate melting on a silver chain around my neck.  I hoped it would go with my outfit.  “No,” she told me and laughed with me.

My girlfriend’s on her way over, so I’d better make myself and the bathroom presentable.    The kids will play.  We’ll get to hang out before work.  The sun’s coming out after this drizzly, cold morning.  Guitar Teacher predicts an Indian Summer.  I hope for one, too.

This entry was posted in Fulfillment and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Birthdays

  1. sideon says:

    Mmm…. Lemon Drops! And curry pasta and peas!

    To me the best gifts in the world are the love of friends and family. Call me a hopeless romantic, but those kinds of gifts seem even more sweet on birthdays.

    Hugs and love.

  2. Cele says:

    Oh darn, I knew I would miss your birthday. I’m sorry. late happy birthday. pictures.

  3. seizui says:

    Wait. . . You had sex, and THEN watched Gilmore Girls? Husband is gay? Interesting – I had not thought that before. It does explain quite a bit.

Leave a Reply

