Random Fortune & Change

I feel fortunate today, fortunate that I got to sleep until 7:45 a.m. for the second day in a row.  I couldn’t sleep last night, so I got up and typed until I couldn’t stay awake any more.  I napped yesterday, and that threw my sleep schedule off.  I hope my sleep pattern goes back to normal this week.  I wish I were a morning person sometimes, but I never have been, except by force, and that doesn’t count.  

This past weekend, I got invited to join in this weekend’s wedding festivities and eat dinner with the guests.  I always feel a little out of place and welcome at the same time.  The younger daughter in the family got married.  Her older sister had gotten married in the past year, too.  The sisters are best friends.  During the toasts, the older sister spoke about how close she and her sister have been since they were little and that there’s no where else they’d rather be than with each other.  My mind zipped to my mom, since we feel the same way about each other.  I thought, ‘So, we’re not the only related pair that feels this way.’  Maybe it isn’t so strange.  If I had a sister, maybe I would have that kind of relationship with her rather than with my mom, who’s my best friend.  I was happy for the family and for the bride on her wedding day surrounded by her family and friends.  

*****

I have some coffee that some guests left behind a few weeks ago.  It’s a brand that you can get at the grocery store and says a time on it.  I would not recommend this coffee.  It’s not as bad as the kind that comes in a can and starts with an “f.”  If I doctor it up with milk and chocolate syrup, I can tolerate it.  The good news is that my coffee consumption has decreased over the last few days.  I’m back down to 3 cups, and I don’t know if I’ll finish all 3 today.  We’ll see.  So far, I haven’t had any headaches from my caffeine receptors going unfed.  

****

I read a while ago that if you leave your blemishes alone, they will heal up on their own in 3 days.  I have shown some amazing willpower the last few days.  I used to have this power over myself to leave my skin alone, but it’s been a good 10 years or more since I last demonstrated such self-control.  So, the simple pimples that heal fast and come to a whitehead in a day or so dry up, but not in 3 days for me.  I still have the one that began the challenge, and it’s been about 5 or 6 days.  Now, I’m to the itching part, which means it’s still healing, and it feels more like a scab now.  The big, deep, painful blemishes that deserve their own names will take longer than 5 or 6 days to heal when left alone.  At least, that’s my bet.  

My challenge to post something every day last week went unmet as soon as my shifts at the restaurant happened.  It doesn’t matter.  I thought I would give it a shot.  I could probably do it in the fall when I have less going on.  

For those of you who don’t know, my birthday is on Thursday.  I had some freak-out moments last week.  OMG, I have a three-year-old, for instance.  I didn’t expect to say that for another 4 years or so, if ever.  I expected to Professor Jenniphur by last year, and that didn’t happen.  I have acknowledged that ideas and goals change, including those two.  It makes me wonder if I’m now ready to go to grad school.  That kept me awake near all night on Wednesday.  I’ll look into it, but my gut says I’m not ready yet, and I don’t know what I want academically.  I’d rather do some more theatre…in my spare time.  

Off to work and to think of a way to get Little Guy to stop breaking things,

J

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Random Fortune & Change

  1. Cele says:

    Your three cups of coffee are keeping you from caffiene withdrawls, which is good you don’t want those headaches, but don’t worry if you get yourself down to one cup a day you still won’t get the headaches.

    I think you need to factor life into your goal settings and not be bothered by extensions and age. It’s life, my dear, live it. And if I miss it, Happy Birthday…a bit early.

  2. jenniphur says:

    Cele – I overthink everything! Thanks for the reminder to just let go.

    I’m looking forward to my birthday this year. It will be simple, just how I like it.

Leave a Reply

