Firsts

I bartended for the first time a couple weeks ago.  It feels like a couple weeks, but I think it has been less than 2.  I don’t want to say too much, so I’ll just say that I got home at 3:30 a.m. and had two pots of boiling hot water to deal with: one at home and one at the restaurant.  I have been well cooked.  I make a good bartender as far as making drinks goes!  

Last Thursday morning, I had my first guitar lesson.  It went well, and I have practiced every day since then, except Friday because I’m not home at all on Fridays and Saturday because I chose to talk to my mom during my available time in the evening.  My left fingertips feel sore and numb, more sore right after I practice and more numb the other 23 hours and 30 minutes of the day.  I’ve learned 4 notes, forgotten 1, and can strum.  

I’ve talked about learning guitar for years now, and it excites me to take it on.  I took piano and flute lessons (not by choice) as a kid.  I appreciate the knowledge that I have about music.  I wish I knew more.  I didn’t have the interest then like I do now.  I’m taking advantage of that positive change!  

I look forward most to having a small instrument so that I can play and sing my favorite songs.  I have wanted to include music in my son’s life.  I cherish the memories I have of singing along to either of my parents playing the piano or organ and singing with me.  Ever since I had Little Guy, I have wanted to bring a piano into the house, since I already knew how to play one.  I would just have to practice to get good enough to sight-read again.  A piano doesn’t excite me.  The guitar does.  Learning a new instrument appeals to me.  Anyway, I’ll keep you posted.   And yes, I’m aware that this adds one more thing to my already hectic schedule, but this is for me, and all it costs me is the time to plan and teach a weekly Spanish lesson in trade.  And as a bonus, I get two hours with a friend, outside from any workplace, and free from the curious Little Guy, who can barely hold still for 3 seconds when I play my borrowed “itar.”  (guitar)  No more practicing while he’s awake!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Firsts

  1. Cele says:

    Oh I am kind of envious, well except for the scored, sore finger tips – I remember them all to well and I still can’t play guitar. I’m envious in a way, I always wanted to learn piano. Now i want to learn how to play the hammer dulcimer. of course I need one to play first, someone to teach me second. But hey it could happen.

  2. sideon says:

    I look forward to hearing you play Madonna’s “La Isla Bonita” to me.

    “Last night, I dreamt of… a bagel!”

    Oh yes.

  3. freddiecat says:

    Hey Chiquita – I love firsts. In fact, I just did my first blog entry. Drop by- I’d love to see you.

    Guitar is a great instrument. I can’t play it because my claws get stuck in the frets and strings, but I love listening. Bagel? Did someone say “Bagel?” Gimmee!

    With love and whiskers,
    Freddie

  4. freddiecat says:

    forgot to leave my address: http://freddiecat.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

