Black Stone Pinot Noir Review

Hello, all.  Since some of my passion and energy goes toward enjoying and tasting wine, I will start a new blog where I share my experiences with a different, affordable red wine each week.  

Since I don’t have that blog started, here’s the first post in the wine review series.

Let me start by saying that I prefer my wine the same way I like my coffee, so dark that I can’t see much through it.  Since I sent my lackey (just kidding, hubby volunteered) to the liquor store yesterday, the helpful clerk there selected a Pinot Noir.  Let me back up.

I have a friend who works at the liquor store who suggested a Pinot Noir for me because it would go with everything and anything.  I need this flexibility in wine because sometimes I have a glass while I make dinner.  Sometimes, I have a glass with dinner, and sometimes, I have a glass after dinner.  I need something that will go with everything and nothing, so we landed on a Pinot Noir.  No, I don’t have three glasses of wine in one night.  I have one.  Since my friend wasn’t there yesterday for hubby to bother, I ended up with Black Stone 2006 Pinot Noir from Woodbridge, California which cost about $13.  

I’m open to trying different wines, so here goes.  The Black Stone Pinot Noir is light in taste and color.  It looks like a ruby in the sun.  It tastes like earthy cherries in a tea leaf sort of way.  It would go well with light or dark meat, even pasta or pizza, like I made last night.  

The label says that it has flavors of vanilla, tea, and cherries, but I do not taste the vanilla.  I can smell vanilla in the wine.  What an interesting combination of grapes and cherries in the glass.  Hubby, who does not like red wine, said it tasted good.  I think I am safe in saying that this wine would appeal to picky drinkers or white wine drinkers.  

As for me, I hope to drink a wine that I have stronger feelings for next week.  On a normal day, I want a dark, complex, smooth wine, usually a Malbec, Cabernet, or Shiraz.  I believe I will review the Alamos Malbec from Argentina soon.  I could do it now from memory, but it would be so much better to review it while enjoying it.  

Bon vin,

Jenniphur

This entry was posted in Red Wine, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Black Stone Pinot Noir Review

  1. sideon says:

    I’ve always enjoyed the very yummy BV – the Cabernet or Merlot. Open the bottle and let it breathe for a good 1/2 hour, then pour and enjoy.

    In my younger days I never waited to let the wine breathe.

    Now that I’m so much older and wiser… Nevermind.

    Good wine, and it’s under $15.00/bottle.

  2. lynnblossom says:

    OOOOOOOoooooooo! I want some! I actually just bought Yellow Tail Merlot and Chardonney which are also pretty good and reasonable. The liquor store had them on sale, so I bought two each.

    That will last me easily a month or so.

    Loves and slurps,

Leave a Reply

