Mother’s Day

My day began at 7:50 a.m.  My husband jumped out of bed this morning when our son woke us up at 6:25 a.m.  I went back to sleep.  (So fantastic to sleep in!  En Vogue’s “Whatta Man” is playing in my head.)  I woke up with a start, amazed at how late it was, took care of business and went downstairs to make my coffee.  I have a one-track mind when I wake up: coffee.  Once I had a cup of it in my hands, I noticed a gift on the table for me that I had walked past several times.  I asked Husband if it had been there all morning.  He said, “Yes.”  I mentioned my strong focus and lack of awareness first thing in the morning.  I didn’t realize how focused until today.

Breakfast that I didn’t make followed, then phone calls to our three moms.  My stepmother in-law thanked me for her Mother’s Day card.  I had found one with her name on it, literally.  She said she sent me one too.  Oh, right.  I’m a mom.  How could I have forgotten?  The little guy’s attached to me like …., like a mole or another ear, or something that’s part of me, like a lung, accompanying me almost everywhere and essential for me to live.  

When I spoke to my mom, also my best friend, she thanked me for making her a mom.  “You’re welcome,” I said.  What else could I say?  She told me the other day that she had received her Mother’s Day cards so early that she had forgotten to thank me for them.  She apologized for opening them upon receipt.  I told her she was supposed to open them then so that she could enjoy them longer.  I sent her two this year.  I couldn’t decide which one to get.  They both made me laugh.  I bought and sent them both. 

I congratulated myself for remembering Mother’s Day and for sending out cards three weeks before the date, rather than three weeks after, like usual.    I considered saving one for next year, but I knew that I would lose it by then or forget that I had it.  She deserves more than two cards, but I can give out more of the free stuff these days, like phone conversations, than material objects.  I’d rather give my time to her any day.  I’d rather receive her time, too.  She is a gift.  Okay, enough about my mom.  

I enjoyed my day so much that I might celebrate my birthday this year and enjoy it, too.  Are birthdays about getting to relax and doing what I want to do (give and take)?  If so, then I think I want in on them again. 

To all mothers, Happy Mother’s Day.  Enjoy your little miracles, and hopefully, a little time to yourself, too.  

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mother’s Day

  1. seizui says:

    I just popped your comment cherry. How vulgar is that? Welcome to the blogosphere, Jenniphur. It is great to see you around, and you could not have picked a better person to write about in your first blog. As a matter of fact, your best friend and I are having lunch today. Yay us. Ciao.

  2. Cele says:

    I am terrible about sending cards, second only to phonecalls. But I did call my mom and renewed her year’s subscription to an internet hook up that is slower than a herd of turtle on flypaper.

    The world does not turn, spin, or even putt putt without at least a pot of coffee to start the day. Welcome to blogdom Jenn

  3. Lynnski says:

    Hey Sweetheart – What a nice way to begin! I’m glad your day was good.

    Thanks again for making me a mom. You are precious to me.

    Mommmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

  4. sideon says:

    I am so excited!!!

    **happy dance, sung to the tune of Prince’s “Kiss”**

    Mwah 🙂

Leave a Reply

